Giant Steps

This is what John Coltrane’s landmark tune and solo look like when they come to life on paper.

If you try to play along, you may notice that the transcription for the head is transposed for C and the solo’s in Bb. Weird, I know, but the transcription book that I based this on was in concert.

You can buy the sheet music here.

4 Responses to Giant Steps

  1. n says:

    did you really make this, or did you find it somewhere else? it’s brilliant!

  2. Dan says:

    Yes, I really did make it. And thanks!

  3. denchart says:

    Hello,

    My name is Denis. I live in Toulouse in France. I’m 22. Your video of John Coltrane is fantastic !
    I’d like to share on the site Dailymotion but I have to prove them that I have the permission of the author. Do you agree to give your green light to Dailymotion ? It will of course mention your name and your site. If you prefer keep the total control of the broadcasting of this creation, I advise you to disseminate it yourself but it must be shared with all music lovers of France, and the world !

    See you soon!

  4. Bill says:

    Just came across this Coltrane/Giant Steps piece. I agree, it IS brilliant. Do you still have the transcription and would you be willing to share it. I am a flute player (not a pro). My instructor tells me that Gian Steps is way too advanced for me but I would love to study it, learn it and play it somewhere, sometime…..

Leave a Reply

